Patrick Bevin will start the 2017 Tour de France in Dusseldorf on Saturday night.  Bevin will make his Tour de France debut in the 104th edition of the race for Cannondale-Drapac and is the second Kiwi expected to be racing this year’s event alongside George Bennett.

Cannondale-Drapac are announcing their Tour de France line up one rider at a time, and have still not confirmed all of their starters for this year’s race.  This has left us nervously waiting to see whether either Patrick Bevin or Tom Scully will get a start in the biggest race in cycling.  We breathed a sigh of relief and were understandably delighted when it was confirmed that Bevin will be joining the team in Germany for the three-week race.

So far Taylor Phinney, Alberto Bettiol, Simon Clarke, Dylan van Baarle, Pierre Rolland and Patrick Bevin are confirmed for Cannondale-Drapac; indicating that there are a range of options for the team.  Stage wins are a definite possibility, particularly for Simon Clarke and Pierre Rolland in the mountains, and Rolland has a good history of being in and around the top ten overall by the time the race has reached Paris.

Patrick Bevin has found consistently strong performances this year in the Tour of Norway and Tour de Suisse, photo Sirotti

Patrick Bevin’s season has been a strong one, with a number of quality performances throughout the season.  The Tour of Norway is where we first saw him produce consistent top ten finishes which led to Bevin taking 6th place overall.  But the recent Tour de Suisse saw his diversity come into play as he took 2nd, 6th and 4th in sprint finishes, and then 10th in the final day’s individual time trial.

In the team announcement Bevin said, “I want a performance I can be proud of, not just three weeks of holding on for dear life.”  But this is not the first grand tour for Bevin.  Last year he started the Vuelta a Espana, but was sadly forced to withdraw from the race due to injury.  

The current team for Cannondale-Drapac at the 2017 Tour de France is:

Taylor Phinney

Alberto Bettiol

Simon Clarke

Dylan van Baarle

Pierre Rolland

Patrick Bevin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here