road cycling logo

Kiwi feature

News image

Dion Smith returns to Hincapie Racing

Dec 12th, ’14.  The Hincapie Racing Team have announced that Kiwi Dion Smith will be amongst seven riders returning to the team for the 2015 season.  Smith rode for the American outfit throughout the 2014 season, racing solidly throughout and featuring in a number of top level American-Canadian races featuring a number of world class ... read more

NZ Event Calendar

What's your next big event? Find out on the
New Zealand Event Calendar
First Pro cycling team announced for NZCT Cycle Classic
Tom Davison photo Eugene Bonthuys 100Dec 18th, ’14.  Top professionals teams have begun releasing their line up for New Zealand’s premier cycle race and only UCI 2.2 sanctioned event in Oceania next January, The NZCT Cycle Classic.  First up is the newly New Zealand registered Avanti Racing Team featuring neo-pro transitioning from triathlon; Tom Davison.
Rohan Dennis to take on the Hour
Mens TT Rohan Dennis 150Dec 18th, ’14.  Rohan Dennis announced details of his attempt on the UCI hour record when he sprung a surprise during the media day at BMC Racing’s training camp in Spain yesterday. The attempt is set to take place on 8 February 2015 at the Velodrome Suisse in Grenchen, Switzerland, which also happens to be the home base of the team’s title sponsor, BMC.
Champion System are go for 2015

Champion System 150Dec 18th, ’14.  The long anticipated Champion System team have been announced for the 2015 season.  The UCI Continental Cycling Team that is New Zealand registered, will be based in Belgium and feature four New Zealanders in the line up.

Storey to take on women’s Hour

Dec 18th, ’14.  Since the UCI’s introduction of new rules for the Hour Record, two successful attempts have been made on the men’s record, formerly held by Ondrej Sosenka. However, no one has yet attempted to break the women’s record, currently held by Leontien Zijlaard-van Moorsel . . . until now.

New year, new name, new enthusiaism
Stage 7 - Brad Evans wins smlDec 17th, ’14.  Renewing their Cycling New Zealand trade licence for 2015 is Modus Construct Cycling Team (formerly Modus-Homestyle trade team) with a strong roster of riders spread around the South Island.
Kittel in, Greipel out for Tour Down Under
Stage 21 - Marcel Kittel wins 150Dec 17th, ’14.  It seems that the two big German sprinters, Marcel Kittel and André Greipel, are not keen on tangling early in the season. Shortly after Greipel announced that he will be missing the Santos Tour Down Under for the first time in eight years, it was announced that Kittel would be attending.
Coming up: BDO Wellington to Auckland Cycle Challenge
Solo descent photo Christopher Cain 150Dec 17th, ’14.  RoadCycling takes a look at one of the most exciting stage races in the New Zealand calendar; although not for conventional reasons.  The BDO Wellington to Auckland Cycle Challenge is an event open not just to elite riders, but to anyone and everyone ready and able to give the 817km course a crack over 7 days.
Dion Smith - focusing on next season
Dion Smith Crit Nats 150Dec 16th, ’14.  Last week it was made official that Dion Smith will return to Hincapie Racing for the 2015 season.  RoadCycling caught up with him to talk about the news and the off-season that’s fast coming to an end with the national championships looming.
Hydration with Gordon McCauley
GMC banner smlDec 15th, ’14.  Summer is now in full swing and we are set for some very hot days on the bike; indeed we already have had one or two.  We spoke to Gordon McCauley of GMC Coaching about the importance of hydration in cycling, from the basics, to how to consume water, to the purpose of electrolyte drinks.