Patrick Bevin will line up as leader of the CCC Team at the Santos Tour Down Under on 21st January.  The Kiwi took his first World Tour win in the race last year and led the race until the final day.

There were so many good things to come from the Santos Tour Down Under 2019 for Patrick Bevin.  A stage win, in which he bested Peter Sagan and Caleb Ewan amongst others.  Four days in the ochre leader’s jersey and victory in the points classification all went his way.  But it’s the nagging memory for Bevin of what might have been had it not been for a nasty crash in stage 5 to Strathalbyn.

“I’m really looking forward to getting the 2020 season underway at the Santos Tour Down Under.  It was nice to win a stage last year, lead the race for the best part of the week and come away with the points jersey.  But, being so close to the overall win is always going to be a tough memory for me.  I take confidence knowing I was close and I can be close again,” Bevin said in a team statement.

This year’s race sees Stirling return as a finish location for the race in stage 2, providing a tough finale that could suit Patrick Bevin; who possesses a punchy finishing kick that favours a sprint that’s less of a flat drag race.  There will also be another uphill finish in Paracombe with a finishing climb of almost 2km in length before the climax of the race on Willunga Hill. 

“I think we’re in for a harder Tour Down Under this year but I really like the course,” Bevin said.  “I’m happy that they have brought the Stirling finish back as I like that stage, it’s a really hard one.  Overall, I think it will be a tougher race and the battle for bonus seconds will be on from stage one but they will be harder to come by.”

A number of the big favourites of the race in recent years are expected to return to the Santos Tour Down Under including defending champion Daryl Impey of Mitchelton-SCOTT, Richie Porte of Trek-Segafredo, Caleb Ewan of Lotto Soudal, Elia Viviani of Cofidis, Solutions Credits as well as the likes of Romain Bardet of AG2R La Mondiale who will be debuting at the event.  Other Kiwis expected to line up include Shane Archbold of Deceuninck-QuickStep, George Bennett of Jumbo-Visma and Tom Scully of EF Pro Cycling.

Racing in the Santos Tour Down Under kicks off on 21st January in Tanunda and goes through until the 26th on Willunga Hill.

The CCC Team for the Santos Tour Down Under is:

Patrick Bevin

Josef Černy

Simon Geschke

Szymon Sajnok

Joey Rosskopf

Francisco José Ventoso

Lukasz Wiśniowski

Photo: @cauldphoto


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here