Mitchelton-SCOTT have no room for Kiwis in their 2019 Tour de France squad.  Neither Sam Bewley, Jack Bauer or Dion Smith will start in Brussels on July 6th, with Simon Yates and Adam Yates among those getting the nod instead.

Adam Yates will be given leadership responsibilities when the Tour starts next week, but it will be the first time he has paired up with brother Simon at the Tour since 2015.  Adam’s best finish at the Tour came the following year where he placed fourth overall.  His form suggests that he is in good shape to emulate that.  He led the Critérium du Dauphiné for three stages before succumbing to illness in stage 8, and has finished in the top 8 in every stage race he has started this season.

Jack Bauer was the least likely of the Kiwi trio to get selected after riding the Giro D’italia earlier this season, photo Sirotti

Following on from his 8th place finish in the Giro d’Italia, Simon Yates will line up in support of his brother for La Grande Boucle.  In 2017, Simon finished 7th and won the best young rider jersey, but it will be lieutenant duties that’s first on the agenda for him this time around.

After making history for New Zealand in 2018 as the first Kiwi to lead a classification at the Tour de France, Dion Smith will not have the opportunity to repeat that success this time around.  Smith hasn’t had an easy season with injury interrupting his campaign.  But he returned to racing after spending much of May sidelined, taking on Hammer Limburg and Critérium du Dauphiné.  

Jack Bauer, having raced the Giro d’Italia already this season, was an uncertain selection, and sure enough, with just one day of racing to his name since completing the Giro in service of Adam Yates, he will not be racing Le Tour.

Sadly the same is so for Sam Bewley, who at 31 is still yet to get a start at the biggest race in professional cycling.  Bewley was due to race the Giro d’Italia but a crash before the prologue of the Tour de Romandie ruled him out of the race.  

Sam Bewley head down against the clock in the Tour de Suisse, photo Sirotti

The team have opted to give a debut start at the Tour de France to the impressive Jack Haig instead while Daryl Impey, Chris Juul Jensen, Luke Durbridge and Michael Hepburn have all been selected.

Mitchelton-SCOTT’s line up for the 2019 Tour de France is:

Adam Yates

Simon Yates

Luke Durbridge

Jack Haig

Michael Hepburn

Daryl Impey

Chris Juul Jensen

Matteo Trentin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here