The World Masters Games individual time trial saw a huge medal haul for New Zealand, with several riders taking out age group silverware.   More than 300 riders took on the individual time trial with Robert Scarlett the fastest over the distance, finishing ahead of German Ariel Lopez and Jacob Grieve.  Vladimir Kuznetsov and Jim McMurray completed the top five overall.

For all 307 riders who took to the start line a 20km individual time trial awaited.  The stage was set for the riders to tackle the race along Tamaki Drive in Auckland, with the coastal out-and-back ride producing some excellent rides.  Fastest of them was Robert Scarlett who completed the course in 24.19mins; also winning the 35-39 category in the process.  Second in the 35-39 category was Jacob Grieve in 25.13mins while Logan Holzer took third in 25.54mins.

German Ariel Lopez finished second overall and also won the 40-44 category with a time of 24.46mins, with Darren Yearsley in second place 51 seconds back and Stuart Holder in third place in a time of 25.38mins.  Vladimir Kuznetsov was in fourth place but his time of 25.19mins not only put him just 6 seconds off of the overall podium but also gave Kuznetsov a resounding win in the 60-64 classification.  He finished 1.17mins ahead of Roger Cull and 1.49mins ahead of Michael Stewart.

Jim McMurray was similarly dominant in the 55-59 category.  McMurray was fifth overall in 25.32mins and claimed first place in his category ahead of Murray Garland who finished in 26.50mins and Neville Weir who finished just 9 seconds slower than Weir.

Gary Mikkelsen was the fastest of the 45-49 category in 25.48mins, with Dean Peterken second in 26.38 and Stefan Macfie third in 26.40mins.  The 30-34 category was dominated by Blair Taylor who claimed the win in 25.50mins, 48 seconds up on Peter Rennie and 55 seconds up on Rowan Brown who fought off the challenge of Graham Norman in a tough battle for third.

The 50-54 category went to David Roche who posted a time of 26.02mins.  He finished ahead of Troy Restieaux who posted a time of 26.41mins, while Bruno Shertenleib stopped the clock in 27.06mins.

Kesson Fraser Sharp posted a strong time of 26.17mins to take the win in the Para 40+ C3 category, while Stephen Knott took the Para 40+ C4 category in 28.41mins.  Shane Blows stopped the clock in 30.27mins to take the Para 40+ H3 category, while Brendon Stratton won the H4 category in 32.37mins.  The Para 50+ C3 category went the way of Gregory Best who completed the race in 36.13mins.  Ivor Thomas won the Para 60+ C5 category in 33.20mins,while Brian Edward Jacobsen took the win in 41.47mins for the 70+ C4 category.

The 65-69 category went to Tinsley Janes who completed the course in 27.09mins, 1.33mins ahead of Colin Claxton and almost 2 minutes ahead of Harold Williams.  In the 70-74 category 28.57mins took Denis Fahey to the win ahead of Gregory Simpson in 29.41mins and Robert Starr in 29.48mins.  
Petr Vatlach won the 75-79 category in a time of 32.23mins ahead of Colin Horsfall and Neil Pollock; while a close race in the 80-84 category saw John King take the win by just 13 seconds in a time of 38.05mins ahead of Garth Barfoot and Douglas Grant who completed the podium in 38.57mins.

In the women’s race it was Penelope Pawson who was fastest overall.  Taking to the start in the 45-49 category, Pawson stopped the clock in 27.55mins, just 6 seconds faster than Tanya Sharp and 20 seconds baster than Barbara Beattie.  Sharp and Beattie took 1st and 2nd respectively in the 40-44 category with Juliann Simeonidis taking third.  Meanwhile standing with Pawson as 45-49 podium place getters were Mireille Sitters in 29.01mins and Sherie Masterson in 29.54mins.

The 30-34 category was dominated by Emma Louise Hadley who stopped the clock in 30.25mins with Julie Taylor taking the silver medal.  Meanwhile two close battles emerged in the 35-39 category for gold and bronze.  Carmen Burmeister came out victorious taking the gold medal in 30.28mins, 20 seconds faster than Rebecca Leaper.  Melanie Giles and Bianca Russell were closely matched for the fight for bronze too, with Giles taking the final podium spot in 33.10mins to Russell’s 33.37mins.

Fiona Southorn finished fourth overall and first in the 50-54 category, just five seconds up on Elizabeth Hayes with Southron’s time of 28.49mins just enough to take the win.  In the 30-34 category Emma Louise Hadley claimed top honours in 30.25mins ahead of Julie Taylor.

The 55-59 category was won convincingly by Susan Lazar.  Lazar stopped the clock in 29.47mins, 28 seconds ahead of Amanda Gumbley and 48 seconds ahead of Maureen Lyell..  Lesley Mouat dominated the 60-64 category with her time of 32.13mins.  Robyn Baker’s 33.49mins was good enough for second with Andrea Smith’s 35.58mins securing her third place.

Sharon Prutton took the win in the 65-69 category with a time of 30.02mins.  She finished 1.20mins faster than Mary Cullen who was just faster than Glenda West.  It was Christine Van Hoppe who was fastest in the 70-74 category with a time of 35.24mins.  Patricia Taylor took silver in 35.50mins, while Faye Omundsen produced a time of 36.25mins for bronze.

Anotnia Bloem-Juffermans and Carole Greenwood Evans were near inseparable as they fought for the 75-79 category.  In the end just 3 seconds separated the two with Bloem-Juffermans coming out on top.  June Hyde was victorious in the 80-84 category in a time of 48.36mins.  Tiffiney Perry took the Para 40+ H3 category in a time of 39.38mins



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here