Finn-Fisher Black has led the charge for New Zealand on day 1 of the Oceania Road Championships in Evandale.  The individual pursuit junior world record holder took gold in the junior men’s time trial, leading a clean sweep for New Zealand, with medals also for the Christie trio of Henrietta, Jason and Georgia.

Evandale plays host to this year’s Oceania Road Championships providing a 15.4km challenge for the Junior women and Para cyclists against the clock, a 26.2km course for the junior men, U23 and elite women, and 40km course for the elite and U23 men.  The course was a challenging one but the junior men’s trio of Xander White, Laurence Pithie and Finn Fisher-Black were more than up to the challenge.

Finn Fisher-Black en route to the Oceania Championship title in the junior men’s TT, photo Caitlin Johnston

New Zealand posted six riders in the top 10 in the junior men’s race with Kiaan Watts 9th, Josh Lane 8th and Barnaby Clegg-Shaw 6th, but it was Finn Fisher-Black who took the plaudits, winning in a time of 34.01mins.  Laurence Pithie took silver 28 seconds back, with bronze going to Xander White at 39 seconds.

In the junior women’s race Henrietta Christie led a Kiwi contingent that filled positions 3-6.  Christie took the bronze medal behind Australians Francesca Sewell and Catelyn Turner, with Hannah Bartram, Ella Wyllie and Lucy Thomson 4th-6th respectively.  Stella Nightingale and Lee Boon also rounded out the top ten.

Australia dominated the U23 men’s time trial courtesy of Liam Magennis, Alastair Christie-Johnston and Jordan Louis, with Hamish Keast the first of the Kiwis on the results sheet at 4.01mins for 8th place, with Oliver Young 10th just ahead of Dylan Simpson.

Jason Christie (left) on the podium after taking silver in the elite men’s time trial, photo Caitlin Johnston

There was more silverware in the U23 women’s time trial, however, as Georgia Christie – second at the National U23 time trial championships in Napier in January – took another second place 14 seconds behind Sarah Gigante and 16 seconds ahead of Jemma Eastwood.  Libby Arbuckle took 5th place and Amelia Matthews 8th.

Jason Christie matched his wife’s performance over the longer 40km course.  While Benjamin Dyball took gold in 49.15mins, Christie’s time of 49.39mins was the only time to get within a minute of the Aussie, with Logan Griffin just 10 seconds shy of the podium in 4th behind Michael Freiberg.  Jake Marryatt and Morgan Smith placed 8th and 9th.

In the elite women’s race it was an Australian 1-2-3 courtesy of Kate Perry, Nicole Frain and Jennifer Pettenon, while Sharlotte Lucas finished 4th, Alicia Evans 5th and Alana Forster 6th.


Photo: Danielle Ward/Concept78 Photography


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here