Georgia Williams will line up to defend her elite women’s crown at the Vantage Road Cycling National Championships in Napier on Saturday, the second day of competition; which also sees Grace Anderson going up in defence of her U23 title.

Also check out:

Is Napier a World Tour rider’s kryptonite?

Elite & U23 men’s road race start lists

Are roadies winning the war for the women in Napier?


After finishing second behind Rushlee Buchanan in both of the previous two editions of the elite women’s road race, and finishing runner up and in the top ten on a further two occasions beforehand; victory finally went the way of Georgia Williams in 2018.  The Napier course saw her take off early and put minutes into her rivals; 4.41mins to be precise by the time she crossed the finish line.  Sharlotte Lucas fared well on the Napier course to claim second in the small group sprint; while Grace Anderson was third across the line and first U23.

Rushlee Buchanan will be back to attempt a famous fifth national title as she also prepares for the UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Cambridge along with a number of others who will be lining up in Napier.  Racing in the elite and U23 women’s road race gets underway on Saturday morning from 10am as the riders take on a 109km course that starts with one lap of the rural circuit before they cross the start/finish line with 56km covered.  From there they will tackle the short Napier city circuit.


Elite women:

Bib no. Name Team
61 Georgia Williams Auckland
62 Alicia Evans Auckland
63 Kate Wightman Auckland
64 Nina Wollaston Auckland
65 Sharlotte Lucas Canterbury
66 Jojo Bauer Canterbury
67 Elyse Fraser VeloProject
68 Kirsty McCallum VeloProject
69 Holly Edmondston VeloProject
70 Kerri-Anne Page East Coast North Island
71 Alana Forster East Coast North Island
72 Kate McIlroy Wellington
73 Racquel Sheath Waikato Bay of Plenty
74 Rushlee Buchanan Waikato Bay of Plenty
75 Courteney Lowe Waikato Bay of Plenty
76 Bronwyn Macgregor Waikato Bay of Plenty
77 Kate McCarthy Waikato Bay of Plenty
78 Jessie Hodges Waikato Bay of Plenty
79 Rylee McMullen Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
80 Kirstie James Cycling Southland
Grace Anderson lines up to defend her U23 women’s title in Napier this weekend, photo provided

U23 women:

Bib no. Name Team
101 Grace Anderson Auckland
102 Amelia Matthews Auckland
103 Bryony Botha Waikato Bay of Plenty
104 Deborah Paine Waikato Bay of Plenty
105 Georgia Christie Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
106 Niamh Fisher-Black Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
107 Jenna Merrick Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
108 Kate Smith Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
109 Emma Smith Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
110 Libby Arbuckle Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
111 Connie O’Brien Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
112 Amanda Jamieson Mike Greer Homes Women’s Cycling Team
113 Mikayla Harvey Cycling Southland
114 Ella Harris Cycling Otago
115 Annamarie Lipp VeloProject
116 Ione Johnson Wellington
117 Michaela Drummond West Coast North Island
118 Emily Shearman West Coast North Island


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here