Canterbury Time Trial Association, Counties Manukau and Te Awamutu Sports showed their time trialling prowess on day one of the Vantage Age Group Road National Championships in Pleasant Point, South Canterbury winning over half of the titles on offer between them.

The pinnacle national road cycling event for age group riders has attracted 545 riders from 33 clubs around New Zealand for the three-day competition that began on Friday morning with an individual time trial and continues throughout the weekend with road races on Saturday and Sunday.

The time trial was staged over 15km and 24km of the South Canterbury countryside which proved a tough challenge for the country’s top age group road cyclists.

Logan Currie (Canterbury) was the fastest rider from all 360 starters in all grades, comfortably taking out the under 19 boys race (over 24kms) and national title by over a minute from fellow Cantabrian Laurence Pithie with Reuben Thompson (Central Otago/Wakatipu) third.

Oceania road race champion Ella Wyllie (Countries Manukau) continued her magnificent form in the under 19 girls race, taking the win by sneaking past Hannah Bartram (Pegasus) by two seconds, with Leeston’s Henrietta Christie rounding out the podium.

The other youth racing was dominated by the North Island clubs with Te Awamutu’s Hamish Banks, Jack Carswell and Prudence Fowler recording wins in the under 15 boys, and under 17 races. It was all Counties Manukau way on the under 15 girls podium with Ruby Spring taking the win over club-mates Maia Barclay and Emma Blackmore.

Rio Olympian Lauren Ellis posted the fastest female time on the 24km course, recording a slick 36:18 to finish exactly a minute ahead of second placed Alana Forster (Ramblers) in the senior women grade. Glenn Haden (Wanganui) posted the second fastest time of the day, taking out the senior men’s division.

In the under 23 category, Kees Duyvesten (Otago) took out the men’s race while under 20 school road national champion Abigail Morton (Counties Manukau) took out the womens. 

It was red and black on top of almost all of the women’s masters podiums, with Sharon Prutton (masters 7), Mary Jones (masters 6), Sara Harnett (masters 5) and Fiona Humpheson (masters 4) winning their categories. Counties Manukau’s Penny Pawson took out the masters 3, while Helen Beattie (Otago) claimed the masters 2.

Current world masters champion Jim McMurray showed his class recording a win in the masters 5 race. Local rider, Chris Karton, was the shining light for Cycling South Canterbury on the opening day, winning the masters 1 category. Glenn Rewi (Pegasus), David Rowlands (Port Nicholson Poneke), Neil Sutherland (Canterbury TT), Lindsay Sheppard (Ramblers), Patrick Johnston (Wanganui), Gary Ferguson (Pegasus) and Bruce Stanton (Canterbury TT) were the other masters winners.

In the para-cycling races, world champions and rainbow jersey holders, Emma Foy and sighted pilot Hannah van Kampen took their track form to the road, smashing out a 30 minute effort for their 24km to take the win in the blind/visually impaired category. Elsewhere, Stephen Hills (New Plymouth) won gold in the trikes 1-2 class, Jonathan Nelson took out the hand-cycling 1-5 class and Sarah Ellington (Auckland) and Fraser Sharp (Tauranga) claimed the wins in the c1-5 classes.

The event, sanctioned by Cycling New Zealand, is hosted by Cycling South Canterbury and sponsored and supported by Vantage Windows & Doors, South Canterbury Toyota, Placemakers Timaru & Twizel / Pink Batts, Trust Aoraki and Alpine Energy.

Results Day 1 Time Trials:

Paracycling: Women C1-5: Sarah Ellington (Auckland) 25:39s, 1; Nicole Murray (Te Awamutu) 27:15s, 2; Anna Taylor (Te Awamutu) 27:24s, 3. Men C1-5: Fraser Sharp (Tauranga) 34:48s, 1; Byron Raubenheimer (Auckland) 37:57s, 2; Hamish McCallum (South Canterbury) 43:01s, 3. H1-5: Jonathan Nelson (South Canterbury) 30:17s, 1; Tiffiney Perry (Morrinsville) 32:53s, 2. T1-2: Stephen Hills (New Plymouth) 29:28s, 1; Eltje Malzbender (Morrinsville) 31:16s, 2; Nau Puriri (Marsden Wheelers) 34:28, 3. B/VI: Emma Foy (Marsden Wheelers) 30:27s, 1; Blair McConnell (Canterbury TT) 48:16s, 2.


15kms – Under 15: Hamish Banks (Te Awamutu) 24:19s, 1; Maui Morrison (Te Awamutu) 25:25s, 2; Nick Rush (Leeston) 25:36s, 3. Under 17: Jack Carswell (Te Awamutu) 21:58s, 1; Zakk Patterson (Hamilton) 22:18s, 2; Charlie Tattersfield (Ramblers) 22:19s, 3. Masters 6: Lindsay Sheppard (Ramblers) 22:59s, 1; Andrew Morrissey (Counties Manukau) 23:10s, 2; Garth Stewart (Wellington) 23:27s, 3. Masters 7: Patrick Johnstone (Wanganui) 24:06s, 1; Martin Fletcher (Marlborough) 24:36s, 2; Dennis Parker (Pegasus) 24:50s, 3. Masters 8: Gary Ferguson (Pegasus) 23:32s, 1; Dennis Murdoch (Hamilton) 25:55s, 2; Harold Williams (Canterbury TT) 26:04s, 3. Masters 10: Bruce Stanton (Canterbury TT) 32:52s, 1; Barry Gardiner (Canterbury TT) 35:58s, 2.

24kms – Under 19: Logan Currie (Canterbury TC) 31:10s, 1; Laurence Pithie (Canterbury TT) 32:14s, 2; Reuben Thompson (Wakatipu) 32:23s, 3. Under 23: Kees Duyvesten (Otago) 32:30s, 1; Hamish Keast (Southland) 33:06s, 2; Andrew Bidwell (Tasman) 33:21s, 3. Senior: Glenn Haden (Wanganui) 31:21s, 1; Jake Marryatt (Canterbury TT) 31:50s, 2; Logan Griffin (Te Awamutu) 31:58s, 3. Masters 1: Chris Karton (South Canterbury) 33:47s, 1; Brett Grieve (NZ Army) 33:51s, 2; Craig Bettjeman (Tasman) 35:14s, 3. Masters 2: Glenn Rewi (Papanui) 33:06s, 1; Steve Bale (Wellington) 33;43s, 2; Andy Hilton (South Canterbury) 33:43s, 3. Masters 3: David Rowlands (Port Nicholson Poneke) 33:46s, 1; Glen Carabine (Tauranga) 34:12, 2; Heath Lett (Tauranga) 34:30s, 3. Masters 4: Neil Sutherland (Canterbury TT) 33:43s, 1; Stuart Lowe (Canterbury TT) 34:12s, 2; Darryl Soljan (Counties Manukau) 34:41s, 3. Masters 5: Jim McMurray (Forestland Wheelers) 33:53s, 1; Ray Dunstan (Otago) 34:54s, 2; David Roche (Pegasus) 35:07s, 3.

15kms – Under 15: Ruby Spring (Counties Manukau) 27:30s, 1; Maia Barclay (Counties Manukau) 28:09s, 2; Emma Blackmore (Counties Manukau) 28:28s, 3. Under 17: Prudence Fowler (Te Awamutu) 24:27s, 1; Jenna Borthwick (Canterbury TC) 24:53s, 2; Lucy Buckeridge (Auckland) 25:23s, 3. Under 19: Ella Wyllie (Counties Manukau) 23:50s, 1; Hannah Bartam (Pegasus) 23:52s, 2; Henrietta Christie (Leeston) 24:06s, 3. Masters 4: Fiona Humpheson (Canterbury TT) 24:33, 1; Sarah Wylie (Canterbury TT) 25:37s, 2; Fleur Wallace (Hamilton) 26:34s, 3. Masters 5: Sara Harnett (Canterbury TT) 24:47s, 1; Vicki Martin (Cantebury TT) 25:46s, 2; Carol McCallum (Ramblers) 25:53s, 3. Masters 6: Mary Jones (Canterbury TT) 26:16, 1; Sue Lazar (Canterbury TT) 26:43s, 2; Jane Sweeney (Marsden Wheelers) 26:58s, 3. Masters 7: Sharon Prutton (Canterbury TT) 27:14s, 1; Mary Cullen (Ramblers) 28:27s, 2; Denese Keenan (Cycling South Canterbury) 30:22s, 3.

24kms – Under 23: Abigail Morton (Counties Manukau) 37:25s, 1; Emma Smith (Leeston) 38:37s, 2; Annamarie Lipp (Canterbury TC) 38:38s, 3. Senior: Lauren Ellis (Tinwarld) 36:18s, 1; Alana Forster (Ramblers) 37:18, 2; Amy Hollamby (South Canterbury) 37:23s, 3. Masters 2: Helen Beattie (Otago) 38:24s, 1; Doreen Lembke (South Canterbury) 42:06s, 2. Masters 3: Penny Pawson (Counties Manukau) 37:28s, 1; Katie Richards (Kapiti) 38:08s, 2; Jeannie Blakemore (Canterbury TT) 38:17s, 3.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here