Three-time champion Michael Torckler will line up for the 2018 Grassroots Trust Team Championship – which kicks off tomorrow with the Cambridge Classic – in new colours.  The two-part day out will see racing kick off with a team time trial followed by a shorter road race ranging in distance between 51-72km.

Almost 400 riders are ready to descend on Leamington, Cambridge for round 1 of this year’s Team Championship; presented by Dynamo Events.  This year’s series will take in two rounds in Tokoroa as well as a brand new location in Ngaruawahia as riders across a larger-than-ever 8 categories take on racing.

Category 1 will see a different look as with no Blindz Direct team this year.  Michael Torckler, three-time series winner, has joined with GD Pringle presented by Spoken Cycles and the combination of Josh Kuysten, Xander White, Alex Heaney and Sam Gaze will head into their home opening round of the series as one of the favourites to light up the race.  

Also set to contend will be the likes of Team Skoda Fruzio, fresh from their international campaign that included Finn Fisher-Black and George Jackson being among the junior team pursuit squad that took world championship gold.  Look out for Age Group National Road Champion Josh Page, who will be joined by his Tank Guy/Bike Box teammates, while with the likes of Team Central Roofing Revolution Cycling’s Nick Kergozou and WBOP Performance Hub’s Regan Gough all on the start list is just a taste of the depth in the category 1 race.

Jim McMurray will be able to sport his new world champion’s jersey in the opening round of the category 2 series.  McMurray will join his Thermal Chemistry/Dynamo teammates resplendent in his newly acquired attire from his victorious UCI World Gran Fondo Championships.  

The largest category of the field is the category 3 field which features 68 riders across a total of 15 teams, while on top of the category 4 and category 5 fields there will also – for the first time – be three women’s categories with an elite women’s category joining category A and B fields.  Age Group National Champion, Kerri-Anne Page of Castelli Womens Racing, will go up against the likes of Velo Project’s Michaela Drummond, North Island Womens Performance Team’s Racquel Sheath and a host of talent coming through the Cycling New Zealand Junior Women’s team and Barfoot & Thompson Auckland Performance Hub.

Racing gets underway at shortly after 9.30am with the 25km team time trial for all categories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here