Amy Hollamby and Chris Karton followed up their Time Trial wins yesterday with wins in today’s road races at the Vantage Age Group Road National Championships in Carterton.  The siblings from Timaru Cycling club have been cycling together since they were young, both taking breaks for family and recently getting back on the bike.

The pair train together, which Karton says helps with motivation, and will be joining forces later in the year to compete in the Pioneer, a six-stage mountain bike event.  

Karton bridged the gap across to second place-getter Blair Taylor, who had broken away from the group early, and the pair worked together throughout the race before the South Canterbury rider edged ahead towards the end of the race.

“The plan, since it was so windy, was to sit tight and see what happens and wait for the last 10kms. I worked well with Blair for around 80kms of the race and on the hill with about 10km to go I knew I had the legs to get there and I went for it” said Karton.

Earlier in the day August Elworthy of North Harbour Cycling also backed up his time trial win with victory in the under-15 boys road race ahead of Jaxson Whyte (Cycling Timaru) and Jaxson Russell (Te Awamutu Sports).

Bee Townsend of Counties Manukau won the under-15 girls in a sprint finish ahead of Ally Gothard (North Harbour) and Amye Kellow (Canterbury Track).

Another sprint finish in the Under-17 Girls saw Prudence Fowler (Te Awamutu Sports) take the win over Ella Wyllie (Counties Manukau) and Lucy Buckeridge (North Harbour Cycling).

Masters women aged 45-74 completed the 66km circuit with Penny Pawson, Mireille Sitters, Sara Harnett, Mary Jones, Sharon Prutton and Carole Atkins (Ramblers) all continuing on from their success in yesterday’s time trials, winning their respective categories in the road race.

Masters women aged 35-44 and men 55-64 years raced on a 73km circuit around Martinborough/Gladstone with Amy Hollamby (Timaru Cycling Club), Jeannie Blakemore (Canterbury TT), Jim McMurrary (Forestland Wheelers) and Steve Brough (Tasman Wheelers) taking out top honours in their categories.

The final races of the day were the Masters Men aged 35-54 years over a 102km circuit, won by Chris Karton (Timaru Cycling Club), Glenn Rewi (Papanui Cycling), David Rowland (PNP) and Rod Carpenter (Hamilton City Cycling).

The championships continue on Sunday with the under-17 boys, under-19s, under-23s and senior men and women.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here