Shane Archbold will once again team up with Irish sprinter Sam Bennett, this time at the Vuelta a Espana.  The Flying Mullet comes to the final grand tour of the year on the back of great form that saw him take his first professional win last week.

30-year old Archbold will get just his second taste of grand tour racing when he lines up in Salinas de Torrevieja for the opening team time trial of the 2019 Vuelta a Espana.  His first outing at the final grand tour in the cycling calendar will come in support of teammate and friend, Irishman Sam Bennett.  Bennett has been on flying form through 2019, with a stage win in every stage race he’s competed in apart from the Tour de Romandie.  In all he has 11 race wins to his name and will be one of the leading lights expected to build on that tally in the Vuelta.

Archbold’s form has been on the rise since his return to racing following a break through July.  After the RideLondon-Surrey Classic, the Kiwi took the first road stage of the Czech Cycling Tour, taking the lead in the points classification and eventually finishing second in that category behind Daryl Impey.

Bennett’s lead out train will benefit not only from the presence of Shane Archbold, but also from the likes of Jempy Drucker and Felix Großschartner.  The team have clear stage-winning potential and will have a viable GC challenge in the combination of Rafal Majka, Gregor Mühlberger and Davide Formolo.  Mühlberger comes to the Vuelta following a super-domestique role played out in service of Emanuel Buchmann who finished fourth overall.  Formolo finished 7th overall in the Tour de Pologne, is the reigning Italian national champion and finished 15th – including two third place finishes in stages – at the Giro d’Italia.

Shane Archbold will join Kiwi compatriots George Bennett of Jumbo-Visma, Dion Smith and Sam Bewley of Mitchelton-SCOTT and Patrick Bevin of CCC Team who will also line up for the Vuelta this year.

The BORA-Hansgrohe team for the 2019 Vuelta a Espana is:

Shane Archbold

Sam Bennett

Jempy Drucker

Davide Formolo

Felix Großschartner

Rafal Majka 

Gregor Mühlberger

Pawel Poljanski


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here