Rushlee Buchanan has been confirmed as part of the 2017 line up for UnitedHealthcare in 2017.  After a 2016 season that has been largely devoted to the track programme and the Rio Olympics, Buchanan will start her fourth season with the team in 2017.

This year Buchanan has been very committed to the Cycling New Zealand campaign that has revolved around the team pursuit at the Rio Olympic Games.  There the quartet of Rushlee Buchanan, Lauren Ellis, Jaime Nielsen and Racquel Sheath finished fourth, matching the performance of the men in the same discipline after getting through to the bronze medal match against Canada.  The Olympics were a strong one for the Kiwis who came away with a new best time of 4.17.592mins in qualifying.

Her track commitments have restricted Buchanan’s road racing in 2017, something which she is expected to have a lot more freedom in for 2017.

There are a couple of significant names not on the roster for the 2017 season.  Linda Villumsen, the current reigning world time trial champion, is absent from the roster while so too is Coryn Rivera of the USA.  Rivera has been responsible for a number of the team’s wins in 2016, taking five of the team’s ten victories.

The full roster for the 2017 UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team is below:

Rushlee Buchanan – NZL

Janelle Cole – USA

Katie Hall – USA

Lauren Hall – USA

Lauretta Hanson – AUS

Shawn Morelli – USA

Diana Penuela – COL

Kate Sherwin – USA

Tayler Wiles – USA

Ruth Winder – USA


Photo:  Alphapix / John Cowpland


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here