Onewhero plays host to round 4 of the Dynamo Team Championship, the final round of the series before the summer break.  Two further rounds await in 2018, but expect riders to be ready to go full gas this Sunday, with just two points separating the top three in category 1.

Three races into the Team Championship and it really is just about anyone’s series in category 1.  Two-time series champion Michael Torckler is in the leader’s jersey with 20 points, but James Oram and Luke Mudgway are closest just 2 points behind and with the bit-of-everything course that is Onewhero coming up it’s really hard to pick what could happen.  Mudgway comes to the fourth round of the series in good form having just taken the win in the final race of the Trust House North Island Series.

Across almost all categories the fight for first place overall has the leaders very slightly ahead a handful of riders all very much in with an opportunity of taking over the series lead.  The category 3 series sees James Harvey, however, enjoying a healthy 14 point lead at the top of the standings ahead of Matt Douglas and Brendon Madden-Smith.

In category 4B Barry Pritchard and Devon Palairet are neck and neck for the top of the standings with 34 points to 33, while in category 2 just 1 point separates Lachie Dickson from Dan Cross at the top, with Aaron Strong 4 points adrift of the lead.  Category 4 sees Andrew McKay lead by 2 points from Benedict Burgess, with 6 points back to Andy Parker and 7 to Matt Storm and Kevin Strongman.  The open women’s category sees Tanya Sharp in the overall lead after her solo breakaway success in race 3.

Three different distances will be on offer for the riders on Sunday with category 1 taking on the full 102.6km of racing.  Categories 2 and 3 will be up against 79.2km of road, while categories 4, 4B and women will tackle 56.7km of racing.

You can find out more about the Dynamo Team Championship here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here