The Grassroots Trust New Zealand Cycle Classic has long held the reputation of unearthing new talent or helping up-and-coming riders step onto a bigger platform … and today was no exception.  Eighteen year old Australian rider Jensen Plowright, riding for Drapac Cannondale Development Team, won the 152km stage in a perfectly timed sprint finish from EVO Pro’s Aaron Gate in 3hr 42min 32secs.

GPM Stultz’s Cameron Ivory was third, with Swiss rider and stage two winner Stefan Bissegger fourth. Defending champion and local hero Hayden McCormick (Team Bridgelane) was sixth while Ethan Batt was the first New Zealand National Rider over the line in 14th place.

Plowright, who is a top junior track rider, managed to hold his line in front of the peloton as weaved into the Waipa township of Te Awamutu this afternoon just narrowly beating Gate, who retained his Grassroots Trust Yellow Jersey on general classification. Plowright thanked his team afterwards for putting him in the best possible position after a gruelling day completing the hilly stage nicknamed Te Ara Roa: the long road.

“The team rode really well for me and got me back up the front. Within 10km to go I was in a good position,” he said. “I love a close ride and managed to get an inside line heading towards the finish … it was a dream run.”

Melbourne based Drapac manager Agostino Giramondo was thrilled for his young charges saying they’d come to New Zealand with the aim of making the podium.

“Drapac is a young team and only came together about two weeks ago – this Tour is the first time we’ve all ridden together and our goal was simple – to get on the podium once during the five days. We’ve done that and it was a stage win, so that’s great,” said Giromondo. “It was a great finish by Jensen, who is predominately a track rider but we’re trying to convert him to road.”

Whilst today’s stage ended in a bunch sprint finish, much of the action occurred early on with two breakaway groups providing most of the excitement. The first happened at 20km when six riders from Drapac, the Swiss National Team, New Zealand, Pro Racing Sunshine Coast, Team Rauland and GD Pringle formed a breakaway and maintained their position until around 75km when they were caught by the peloton.

The second breakaway happened a short time later with Bissegger joining Team Skoda-Fruzio’s Reece Tucknott out in front and together, the pair extended their lead to 3min 20secs. They were later rewarded for their huge effort with Bissegger retaining both his Foster Construction U23 Jersey and the BNZ Sprint jersey while Tucknott, a top Australian mountain biker, was presented with the Winger Suzuki Most Aggressive Rider Jersey.

With 20km to go the pack, driven largely by EvoPro, clawed back the leaders’ advantage. Bissegger eventually sat up leaving Tucknott out in front alone until he was swallowed by the bunch with 10km to go. 

Then it was all on with the New Zealand National team, EvoPro, St George, the Swiss National team and Drapac rallying the troops as the bunch hurtled towards the finish line.

On the podium, Gate thanked all his team mates for keeping him in the yellow jersey but made a special mention to Cryus Monk for his huge effort in doing time checks on the breakaway groups. Gate said his team would now focus on tomorrow’s gruelling 143km Queen Stage which finishes on top of Maungakawa Hill.

“It’s a formidable climb that one and I tend to avoid it in training even though it’s only 5km from my house,” said Gate who is originally from Auckland, but now lives in Cambridge.

Swiss rider Cyrille Thiery backed up his stunning day yesterday by keeping the Three Peaks Manuka Honey King of the Mountain Jersey. But along with team mate Bissegger he remained closed-lipped on his team’s plans for Stage 4.

“We will see what these track riders can do on a hill climb,” joked Theiry to an appreciative crowd at the finish line.

Race director Jorge Sandoval said it was exciting to see more young talent shine during the Tour.

“We’ve had the likes of Julian Dean, Chris Jenner, Robbie McEwen and Hayden Roulston all claim the yellow jersey while many others have gone on to ride in the Tour de France. For me that is very rewarding,” he said.

The New Zealand Cycle Classic celebrates its 32nd Anniversary this year. After being staged in the Wairarapa for the last three years it is being staged entirely in and around the surrounds of Waipā and features new race routes that will test all riders.

Being held simultaneously with the Grassroots New Zealand Cycle Classic is Three Peaks RIDE New Zealand’s Cycling Festival, a week-long festival encouraging people of all ages and stages of cycling to get out and ride more regularly. These two events have been made possible thanks to the generous support from the Brian Perry Charitable Trust and the Waipā District Council.


Stage results:

Pos. Rider Team Time
1 Jensen Plowright Drapac Cannondale Holistic Development Team 3.42.32
2 Aaron Gate EvoPro Racing ST
3 Cameron Ivory GPM Stulz ST
4 Stefan Bissegger Swiss National Team ST
5 Jay Vine Team Nero Bianchi ST
6 Hayden McCormick Team BridgeLane ST
7 Hayato Okamoto AISAN Racing Team ST
8 Jim Okudo KINAN Cycling Team ST
9 Lukas Ruegg Swiss National Team ST
10 Thery Schir Swiss National Team ST
11 Shotaro Watanabe AISAN Racing Team ST
12 Nick Miller Futuro Pro Cycling ST
13 Taj Jones Pro Racing Sunshine Coast ST
14 Ethan Batt New Zealand National Team ST
15 Kota Sumiyoshi AISAN Racing Team ST
16 Zack Gilmore Pro Racing Sunshine Coast ST
17 Liam Cappel GD Pringle/Spoken Cycles ST
18 Benjamin Metcalfe Team BridgeLane ST
19 Cameron Layton Futuro Pro Cycling ST
20 Michael Torckler GD Pringle/Spoken Cycles ST
21 Ryan Christensen New Zealand National Team ST
22 Yasuharu Nakajimakin KINAN Cycling Team ST
23 Masaki Yamamoto KINAN Cycling Team ST
24 Jesse Featonby Oliver’s Real Food ST
25 Thomas Lebaskin KINAN Cycling Team ST
26 Liam Edwards AMR Renault Racing ST
27 Scott Bowden Team BridgeLane ST
28 Ollie Jones Team Skoda Fruzio ST
29 Jayden Kuijpers Team Skoda Fruzio ST
30 Clinton Edwards Oliver’s Real Food ST


For more results click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here