Patrick Bevin will ride the 2019 Tour de France.  The New Zealand national time trial champion will line up in Brussels with a CCC Team that are targeting stage wins with no obvious GC challenger in their ranks.

The CCC Team are one of a select few outfits that will start the Tour de France without a general classification challenger in their ranks.  The team will instead be led by Olympic champion Greg van Avermaet who will get an opportunity to take the maillot jaune in his homeland when the race starts in Brussels on 6th July.

With CCC’s stage focus there is every possibility that Patrick Bevin will have the most free role of the Kiwis present at the 2019 Tour de France.  Bevin has made no secret that he will be targeting the individual time trial in stage 13, but his eyes are on further opportunities that may arise through the three week race.

“I have two main goals.  The first is the time trial.  This has been my focus throughout the season and I have been constant in all the time trials I have taken part in.  A time trial during the second week of a Grand Tour is a different prospect and I hope to be able to produce a top performance there and see where that puts me on the results sheet,” Bevin said via the team’s website.

“My second goal is to be aggressive as the race progresses.  I feel like I am climbing well enough to take some chances on the days where a break is likely to succeed.  This is a different feeling to my last Tour de France experiences and this is the type of opportunity that really excites me as an athlete.”

Don’t be surprised to see Bevin pop up in a sprint or two in the next three weeks, although Van Avermaet will be the team’s priority early on in that regard.  The Belgian has two individual wins to his name at the Tour de France and is the last Belgian to wear the maillot jaune.

Patrick Bevin joins Jumbo-Visma’s George Bennett as the only other Kiwi so far selected to ride the Tour de France this year.

Look out for the likes of Simon Geschke and Alessandro De Marchi in the mountains.  De Marchi has three Vuelta a Espana stage wins to his name.

The CCC Team for the 2019 Tour de France is:

Greg van Avermaet

Serge Pauwels

Simon Geschke

Patrick Bevin

Michael Schär

Alessandro De Marchi

Joey Rosskopf

Lukasz Wiśniowski


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here