Luke Mudgway of EvoProRacing has finished 4th in stage 3 of the Herald Sun Tour.  The Gravel and Tar Classic winner finished behind Team Sky duo Owain Doull and Luke Rowe, with Liam White of Drapac-Cannondale Holistic Development Team third.

Day 3 of the Herald Sun Tour packed the punch in the latter half of the stage with a rolling final 50% which incorporated the climbs of Yallourn North and Shady Creek.  It was a day that saw a breakaway succeed as nine riders took off up the road.  Team Sky posted Luke Rowe and Owain Doull in the move with Luke Mudgway of EvoPro Racing, Ryan Cavanagh of St George Continental, Drapac’s Liam White, Trek-Segafredo’s Will Clarke, Oliver’s Real Food Racing’s Conor Murtagh, Nathan Elliott of KordaMentha Australian Team and Team BridgeLane’s Neil Van Der Ploeg.

The group worked together to build a lead of 5.25mins by the halfway point, but with no major threats to the overall lead of Michael Woods of EF Education First the break were able to stay clear and contest the win.  It wasn’t Yallourn North or Shady Creek that got to the breakaway in the end though, but after the entrance to Warragul.  The break of nine had largely remained together but Team Sky showed their force with Doull and Rowe attacking together and putting distance in the rest.  

Doull and Rowe were clear and they were free to enjoy the moment; crossing the line in celebration together with Doull being gifted the win ahead of his teammate.  Behind them Liam White broke free of the rest of the break to cross the line 29 seconds back from the Sky duo.  Luke Mudgway led home the group behind him in fourth with Ryan Cavanagh and Conor Murtagh in tow.

The peloton were led home by Team Sky’s Kristoffer Halvorsen, with Brenton Jones of Korda Mentha Real Estate Australia and New Zealand’s favourite Aussie – Robert Stannard of Mitchelton-SCOTT – just behind.

Sam Bewley (centre) and Tom Scully (far left) in the peloton during stage 3, photo Con Chronis

Stage results:

Rank Last Name First Name Country Team Result
1 DOULL Owain GBR        TEAM SKY 03:28:47
2 ROWE Luke GBR        TEAM SKY 03:28:47
3 WHITE Liam AUS        Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team 03:29:16
4 MUDGWAY Luke NZL        EvoPro Racing 03:29:23
5 CAVANAGH Ryan AUS        St George Continental Cycling Team 03:29:23
6 MURTAGH Conor AUS        Oliver’s Real Food Racing 03:29:23
7 VAN DER PLOEG Neil AUS        Team bridgelane 03:29:26
8 CLARKE William AUS        TREK – SEGAFREDO 03:29:26
9 ELLIOTT Nathan AUS        AUSTRALIA 03:29:29
10 HALVORSEN Kristoffer NOR        TEAM SKY 03:30:06
11 JONES Brenton AUS        AUSTRALIA 03:30:06
12 STANNARD Robert AUS        MITCHELTON – SCOTT 03:30:06
13 YATES Theodore AUS        Drapac Cannondale Holistic development team 03:30:06
14 HARPER Chris AUS        Team bridgelane 03:30:06
15 WIGGINS Craig AUS        St George Continental Cycling Team 03:30:06
16 VAN BAARLE Dylan NED        TEAM SKY 03:30:06
17 PORTE Richie AUS        TREK – SEGAFREDO 03:30:06
18 JENNER Samuel AUS        AUSTRALIA 03:30:06
19 WOODS Michael CAN        EF Education First 03:30:06
20 EWART Jesse AUS        TEAM SAPURA CYCLING 03:30:06


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here