Ironically it was a track cyclist and a mountain biker who took the honours on the first day of the Vantage Age Group Road National Championships in Carterton.  Mountain biker Phoebe Young of Central Otago Wakatipu defended her title and edged out last year’s Under 17 winner Ally Wollaston of Te Awamutu Sports to secure the Under19 Women’s Time Trial jersey.

The Under 19 men’s title went to last year’s U17 winner Finn Fisher-Black of Tasman Wheelers who was named earlier this month in the team bound for the Junior Track World Championships in August.  Fisher-Black battled wind throughout but was able to put in a good ride and take out the national title over Jayden Kuijpers and Lachlan Dickson, both of Counties Manukau Cycling.

“I was holding a bit of energy back ready for the headwind on the way back which I knew was going to be a hard point in the race, when I hit the 1km sign to go it really started to hurt.

“There wasn’t much of a gap in the win, only 4.5sec but I’m pretty happy with the result, I just gave it all the way to the line,” said Fisher-Black.  

Finn heads to Cambridge next week for a junior camp, preparing for the Junior Track World Championships.

In the Senior men, Wanganui’s Glenn Haden took the win over Te Awamutu’s Logan Griffin and last year’s Masters Men 1 winner Rob Scarlett of Counties Manukau, while the senior women’s grade was won by Rambler’s Kerri-Anne Page followed by Rylee McMullen and Alicia Evans of Counties Manukau.  The U23 Time Trial titles went to Jake Marryatt of Pegasus Cycling ahead of Connor Brown of Counties Manukau and Oliver Young from Auckland Central Cycling for the Men with Holly Edmondston of Timaru Cycling Club winning it for the Women with Libby Arbuckle of Bike Manawatu in second.

Laurence Pithie of Canterbury Time Trial continued his success from the recent Vantage Age Group Track Nationals to add the Under 17 boys Time Trial title to his belt after putting in the effort and battling a windy course.  Prudence Fowler of Te Awamutu Sports won the Under 17 girls race backing up her win last year in the Under 15 category, this time getting ahead of club teammate Maddi Douglas and Ella Wyllie of Counties Manukau.

August Elworthy of North Harbour Cycling took out the Under15 boys win while Amye Kellow one-upped her second place result from last year to take the win for Canterbury Track Cycling.

Masters Women aged 50-74 and Men aged 60-74 completed the 15km Time Trial with titles going to Carole Atkins (Rambers Cycling), Canterbury Time Trial’s Sharon Prutton, Mary Jones and Sara Harnett, Mireille Sitters (Counties Manukau), Bob Starr (Marsden Wheelers), Gary Ferguson (Pegasus Cycling), and Brohn Torckler (Stratford Cycling Club).

Then Masters Women aged 35-49 and Masters Men aged 35-59 completed the 25km Time Trial with Penny Pawson (Counties Manukau), Jeanie Blakemore (Canterbury Time Trial), Amy Hollamby (Timaru Cycling Club), Jim McMurray (Forestland Wheelers), Neil Sutherland (Canterbury Time Trial), Aaron Strong (Auckland Central Cycling), Glenn Rewi (Papanui Cycling), and Chris Karton (Timaru Cycling) taking out top honours in their categories.

The championships continue today with the Road Race for the Para cycling, Under15s, Masters and Under17 girls.


Photo:  Dave Lintott Photography


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here