Mike Greer Homes Womens Cycling Team have evolved significantly in their roster for 2019.  Building on the success of 2018 which saw their riders receive World Road Championship call ups and advance to the highest level of the UCI World Tour for next season, new names and faces as well as a #MentorToSUCCEED Program are just parts of the big changes at play in the team.

It’s been a bumper year for Mike Greer Homes Womens Cycling in 2018.  At the end of the year they can reflect on their riders enjoying success all around the globe.  In the Calder Stewart Series Ella Harris, Britney Kerr and Niamh Fisher-Black led the way, with Fisher-Black winning round 3 and being first U19 in round 4.  Ella Harris took two podiums along with three podiums for Britney Kerr on the way to Mike Greer Homes Womens Cycling taking second in the team classification.

Mikayla Harvey was busy in Australia taking out the gold medal in the U23 women’s time trial and the U23 win in the road race.  Over the course of the season MGHWC riders experienced World Tour racing in the Amgen Tour of California as well as racing in China, Thailand, Australia, Italy and France.  Add to that September where Mikayla Harvey, Grace Anderson, Niamh Fisher-Black and Britney Kerr were selected to race the Innsbruck World Road Championships.

In 2019 the team looks quite different as a host of new faces come on board to New Zealand’s pioneering development outfit in women’s cycling.  There is also the introduction of the brand new #MentorToSUCCEED Program with Rushlee Buchanan, Mikayla Harvey and Amanda Jamieson taking on new roles with the team.  The aim of the program is to utilise the skills, knowledge and on/off bike experience of these three riders who between them have a vast range of insight that they will impart to the riders across the year.

Georgia Christie, Libby Arbuckle, Niamh Fisher-Black and Rylee McMullen remain with the outfit in a team that is otherwise full of new names as the team looks to reach the next step in its development and in championing women’s cycling in New Zealand.  Stella Nightingale was on board in 2018 as a guest rider but now joins the team officially along with a host of talent new to the set up.  Amanda Jamieson is returning to the team in 2019, where she will balance her racing for MGHWC with her European campaign with Watersley R&D International Women’s Cycling Team.

The full roster for the 2019 team is below:

Georgia Christie

Rylee McMullen

Deborah Paine

Amanda Jamieson

Libby Arbuckle

Niamh Fisher-Black

Jenna Merrick

Hannah Bartram

Stella Nightingale

Connie O’Brien

Emma Smith

Amelia Matthews

More to come . . .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here