James Harvey and Mikayla Harvey came away with the elite men’s and women’s crowns at the 2020 edition of SRAM Tour de Ranges.

34 riders took to the start line on Saturday in Clevedon, Auckland for the 2020 SRAM Tour de Ranges.  Up ahead of them were 110km of racing and this year saw a four-way sprint decide the men’s title.  GD Pringle p/b Spoken Cycles duo Michael Torckler and James Harvey were up against Josh Kench and Theo Gilbertson after a little over 2.30 hours of racing.  The race win as well as a new course record were up for grabs and it was Harvey who had the speed to take both, with Gilbertson second and Torckler third.  

The next trio across the line saw Jack McNeely lead home Ben Hamilton and Connor Johnston just over a minute later; with Josh Page, Hayden McCormick and Sam Gaze completing the top ten.

A group sprint also decided the destination of the women’s title.  Ally Wollaston, Nicole van der Kaay, Anna Christian, Georgia Perry and Mikayla Harvey arrived at the finish line together, 2 minutes ahead of Jorja Swain who in turn finished ahead of Kerri-Anne Page.  Their battle for the title saw Harvey, a second-year World Tour pro with Bigla-Katusha, take the title ahead of Wollaston; with Perry coming home for third place.

James Harvey, who will be racing the 2020 New Zealand Cycle Classic, was very happy to come away with the win after a break from competition.  “I haven’t done any racing for probably a month now.  After the Christmas period I didn’t really know what my form was like so to come out here and get a win today is a good indication.”

Racing in her World Tour colours and taking the crown, Mikayla Harvey said, “It’s a really nice feeling to be able to win especially in my Bigla colours and being able to race in New Zealand, it’s really special.  Riding Tour de Ranges is pretty cool because I used to live around here when I was younger so these roads are very memorable for me.”

“I had good fun out there and hit it out on the climbs.  I was happy with how the sprint finish went; I haven’t had many sprints like that, so it was good being able to give it a crack at the end.”

Over 330 riders completed the Age Group 110km course.  Crossing the line solo to take the win in the Age Group category was 30-39 category rider Charles Smart.  Smart crossed the line in 2.42.04 hours, 1.53mins ahead of Herman Engelbrecht; who finished 12 seconds up on Mark Shaw.  Alice Coombs was the first female across the line in 2.48.59 hours, with Anne-Marie Guiney second and Jane Mason completing the podium.

Mikayla Harvey relied on her finishing kick to win the women’s race, photo Ezra Newick

The 65km event saw Trevor Coetzee finish well clear of the field as he claimed a convincing win in 1.46.48 hours, with Stephen Palmer and Alan McIntyre rounding out the top three.  Elodie Cathala took the women’s race in 2.11.21 hours ahead of Monique van Wyk and Ruby Spring.

Daniel Carruthers and Bree Monaghan finished equal on time and winners of the men’s and women’s categories respectively in the 30km event.  They stopped the clock in 56.49mins, with Tiree Robinson and Reuben Cooper again equal on time for second places in 56.50mins, while Tim Robinson took third place for the men and Seiko Whiteley took third for the women.

This year’s 40km MTB event saw Logan Griffin take out the win ahead of Josh Aldridge and Single Speeder Phil Walter.  In the women’s race it was Amy Haddon who took the honours ahead of Eva van den Heuvel and Kimi Sutherland, with Josh Halligan besting Jared Halligan and Bill Jones in the men’s E-Bike category with Adrienne Tubbs taking the women’s honours.

To find out more about the 2020 SRAM Tour de Ranges click here.  For full results click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here