Tokoroa plays host to round 2 of the Grassroots Trust Team Championship, presented by Dynamo Events.  With no Regan Gough lining up for this weekend’s race the overall lead in category 1 is set to change over the Tokoroa roads that have proven extremely popular in recent times.

With both Regan Gough of WBOP Performance Hub and Aaron Wyllie of Team Skoda Fruzio absent from racing in round 2 of the Team Championship, Antony Nalder of Team Crediflex Cycling will start the 93.1km race with the highest points tally.  He begins today’s racing in third place in the individual standings, while the team lead currently sits on the shoulders of Waikato Bay of Plenty.

Expect a strong challenge to come from Team Skoda Fruzio, who will be buoyed by the return of Josh Lane, recently home from his exploits at the UCI World Road Championships in Austria.  With GD Pringle Presented by Spoken Cycles not lining up in the company of Michael Torckler, the team is looking no less fierce; as Sam Gaze, Logan Griffin, Alex Heaney and Josh Kuysten could all pose a dangerous threat on the hilly course.

The Dynamo Events team will be an exciting prospect to watch as Hamish Bond, also recently returned from the UCI World Road Championships, will take to the start alongside Steve Furminger, Owen Owens, Tom Carter and Cameron Wynniatt.  Bond is not unfamiliar to the Team Championship, having placed third behind Regan Gough and Connor Brown in the first round of the event back in 2016.

Categories 2, 3, 4 and 5 in round 1 of the Team Championship went down to bunch sprint finishes with Paul Bishop of Burnsco BSR Team, Ollie Simcock of CNZ Junior Team, O’Neill Sinclair of Forrestland Wheelers and Russell Thorpe of Rayglass GMC coming through to take the wins respectively; however Tokoroa has a knack for breaking the race up effectively so expect riders in smaller groups or solo breakaway attempts to decide matters.

With no Holly Edmondston, Penny Pawson or Abigail Morton in the elite women’s category racing is very open among the riders.  The track season is underway so Racquel Sheath and Michaela Drummond are also among those not due to start the elite women’s race.  Keep an eye open for Velo Project’s Amanda Jamieson and Castelli Womens Racing’s Bronwyn MacGregor though who spent much of this year racing over in Europe.

In the open women’s A & B categories, series leaders Emma Hannan and Sophie Hamer are both absent, but second placed riders Millie McNie and Petra Trust are in attendance.

Racing begins at 9.50am this morning.


Photo:  Robert Jones


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here