Alex Frame did the double in Croatia, taking stage 3 after a powerful sprint finish, photo Del Woodford

Alex Frame has done it again!  The JLT-Condor rider did the double in Croatia after taking the bunch sprint win in stage 3 of the Istrian Spring Trophy.  Frame took his fourth win of the season ahead of Filippo Fortin and Daniel Auer.

Stage 3 of the Istrian Spring Trophy was a 156km trek from Pazin to Umag.  The final day of the race would be much more a day to the sprinters’ liking after two back-to-back stages featured climbs at the end of them.  The day wasn’t without its challenges though with the finishing circuit – to be navigated three times – featuring a short climb each time before the downhill swoop in towards the finish.

JLT Condor entered the stage looking to defend the position of Ian Bibby who went into the finale 4 seconds behind Matej Mugerli of Amplatz-BMC.  Bibby’s second place overall was secure as he safely navigated the stage to secure his place on the podium.  But what of the finish?

The peloton arrived in Umag together after JLT Condor had produced a brilliant display of teamwork courtesy of Steven Lampier, Thomas Moses, Alistair Slater, Ian Bibby and last lead out man Russell Downing.  The team timed it perfectly to send Frame to the stage win, with the Kiwi hitting the front at exactly the right time to power away to the win with Tirol Cycling’s Filippo Fortin second and Team Felbermayr-Simplon Wels’ Daniel Auer in third.

Lead out man Russell Downing did enough to take fourth place on the stage, in an impressive display by JLT-Condor. 

After the stage we caught up with Frame to talk through another successful day of racing.  “To be fair it was a hard stage race, 200 riders all aggressive,” Alex told RoadCycling.  “The guys backed me and we went late and pinned the last 3km.  We have such a good team and after they dropped me off all I want to do was make all these Euros look heaps slow!”


Stage results:
Pos. Rider Nation Team


Alex Frame NZL 3.36.26


Filippo Fortin ITA ST


Daniel Auer AUT ST


Russell Downing GBR ST


Luka Cotar SLO ST


Eryk Laton POL ST


Matteo Rotondi ITA ST


Robert Kessler GER ST


Tadej Pogacar SLO ST


Manuel Porzner GER ST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here