road cycling logo

Kiwi News


Oram and Scully on podium in Europe

News image

March 30th, ’15.  Tom Scully and James Oram have continued a Kiwi trend of recent ... read more

Jack Bauer on his dramatic debut at Harelbeke

News image

March 28th, ’15.  While drama flew from all angles at E3 Harelbeke, Jack Bauer showed ... read more

Thomas rules in E3 Harelbeke, Bauer shines in eighth

News image

March 28th, ’15.  Geraint Thomas turned a podium last year into a win this year ... read more

Home > TeamTalk > Kiwi TeamTalk > NZ Olympic track team announced

NZ Olympic track team announced

Hopefully there will be plenty to celebrate in London ©

Apr 27th, 12. New Zealand Olympic Committee today announced a 15-strong team plus reserves for London.


Official announcement

The team is built around the riders who achieved podium performances at the recent World Championships in Melbourne and reflects Bike NZ's continual gains on the world's stage.


"The size and strength of the team named today reflects BikeNZ's focus on performance and the quality and depth of the athletes in the cycling programme," said Kereyn Smith, selector and Secretary General of the New Zealand Olympic Committee.


"Our expectations for the track cycling team are high and we believe we will see medal performances in a number of disciplines. We're also delighted women's TP is on the Olympic programme for the first time. "


BikeNZ's High Performance Director Mark Elliott said the team was capable of medal winning performances across as many events as possible.


"We are also aware of the enormous challenge ahead," he said.


The bar was raised significantly in a number of events at the World Championships by the superpower teams of Great Britain and Australia but we believe we have the talent and support to mount a world class campaign."


Tough selection process

Mr Elliott said the selection had been a challenging process with the quality of the riders in the programme and also the quota process in place by the sport's ruling body, the UCI and the IOC.


Nations were recently advised that the teams were limited to eight men and six women, although one rider may be transferred from another cycling discipline. New Zealand is also entitled to one male and female reserve rider to cover in case of injury or illness.


"That has been a difficult process. However our focus is on medal-winning potential as a clear priority.


Spares for the Team Pursuit events - by transferring riders

"The team pursuit in both men and women is a key opportunity for London. They have to ride three times in two days and we believe an additional rider is an integral factor in producing optimal performances. Our intention is to transfer a spare spot from the women's road quota, with the men's spot to come from another discipline. These will be decided once all Olympic quotas are finalised by the UCI in June."


The men's team pursuiters, who rode their third fastest time in history at the World Championships, will lead New Zealand's track campaign with the same quartet that won the bronze medal in Melbourne, along with the addition of Radioshack Nissan Trek professional Jesse Sergent.


The women's team pursuit, fourth at the World Championships, is led by pursuit world champion Alison Shanks and includes cover from 2010 NZ Road Champion Rushlee Buchanan, subject to the confirmation of quota spots in June.


Sprint places

The strongest competition for selection came in the men's sprint group that won two bronze medals in Melbourne, with only three spots available.


"Simon van Velthooven's performances in the time trial and keirin in Melbourne were compelling even though he was not in the team sprint. We believe he can develop into the third rider in the team sprint and will be a clear contender in the keirin."


Auckland's Ethan Mitchell has cemented himself in the start position with Southland's Eddie Dawkins picked for the wheel two position, while former triple junior world champion Sam Webster has been named as the reserve.


"We believe we have selected the best performing sprinters. Ethan is now producing excellent times consistently in the 17 second bracket while Eddie's 9.9 second ride in Melbourne is world class and a reflection of the constant gains he has made over the last five months."


The team also includes women's sprinter Natasha Hansen, the 22 year old from Invercargill who has emerged in the Top10 sprinters for the Olympics.

"Natasha's development over a few months has been outstanding to earn selection with the clear focus that we believe she will be a medal contender come Rio 2016."


Omnium - two riders

Both omnium riders Shane Archbold and Joanne Kiesanowski were selected after top-seven finishes at the world championships.



NZ Olympic history

New Zealand Olympic Track cyclists have won a total of four Olympic medals including Sarah Ulmer's gold medal at Athens 2004 in the Individual Pursuit, Hayden Roulston's silver in Men's Pursuit in Beijing 2008 and bronze medals from Gary Anderson (1992 Barcelona Men's Individual Pursuit) and the Men's Team Pursuit at Beijing 2008 (Gough, Bewley, Roulston, Ryan, Sergent).


New Zealand's first Olympic track cyclist was George Giles who represented New Zealand at the Berlin Olympic Games in 1936.


New Zealand's Olympic BMX and Mountain Bike teams will be named at the end of May and the Road team in June.


The naming of today's cycling team brings the total number of athletes selected to the New Zealand Olympic Team to 80.


The New Zealand 2012 Olympic Track team

See profiles of the team...

Men Endurance

  • Shane Archbold (Timaru)
  • Sam Bewley (Rotorua)
  • Aaron Gate (Auckland)
  • Westley Gough (Waipukurau)
  • Marc Ryan (Timaru)
  • Jesse Sergent (Feilding)

Women Endurance

  • Lauren Ellis (Hinds)
  • Joanne Kiesanowski (Christchurch)
  • Jaime Nielsen (Hamilton)
  • Alison Shanks (Dunedin)
  • Rushlee Buchanan (Te Awamutu) – subject to quota confirmation

Men Sprint

  • Eddie Dawkins (Invercargill)
  • Ethan Mitchell (Auckland)
  • Simon van Velthooven (Palmerston North)
  • Reserve: Sam Webster (Auckland).


Women Sprint

  • Natasha Hansen (Invercargill)
  • Reserve: Katie Schofield (Dunedin) – subject to acceptance of final qualifiers.



Coaches: Tim Carswell (Christchurch, Men endurance coach), Dayle Cheatley (Wanganui, women endurance coach), Justin Grace (men sprint coach), Stu McDonald (Invercargill, women sprint coach).


See also




Support Advertisers